1/7

Initiatives

Jean-Christophe Cholet, piano

Vincent Mascart, sax

Quentin Cholet, drums

Jean-Christophe Cholet goes on with his adventure in trio, laboratory of intergenerational encounter. This line-up piano/bass/drums enables him to fully express his deep and tough dense piano playing and to cross his work with the young generation.
Be it in a small jazz club in Europe or in a Concert Hall in Chine, this trio has already played around 100 concerts all over the world. The album released in 2017 was a new step in this adventure, which will go on in 2018 with new gigs in Europe and Asia.
2018 marks a new step in this adventure as instrumentation is evolving: after the classical piano-double bass-drums trio, double bass is now replaced by saxophones with Vincent Mascart which create a more modern sound. This new project will enable Jean-Christophe Cholet to strenghten his work of melodist and to write more modern music.

'Each time I listened to his music I found it excellent, and this time again. It's always perfectly written and it's the case here again. (…) Jean-Christophe Cholet is a major figure of French jazz scene and this album confirms this fact once more. (translated from) Ludovic Florin, Jazz Magazine  (June 2017)


'Great sound of trio. When one hears this elegance, one obviously thinks of delicious pianists such as Richie Beirach or Kenny Baron, with whom Jean-Christophe studied when he was younger.' (translated from) Alex Dutilh, Broadcast « Open Jazz » France Musique (May 2017) 
 
'Each time you listen, far from getting bored, you discover some new pleasure, the discovery of a subtlety that the completion of the whole had kept hidden from your ears… (…) All this gives us a very coherent album, melodious and groovy, quite 'classical' but all the most very nice, soothed and soothing in these times of unbridled improvisation not always very well mastered.' (translated from) Jean-Louis Derenne, Ojazz (May 2017)
 
'An elegant album which proposes some remarkable tunes: among them, Xingang Road , Petithomme or Lili, that opens the ball and that is very close to Mehldau in the exposition of the theme.' (translated from) Louis Victor Michaud, Jazz News (June 2017)
 
'Initiatives (…) is always attached to melodic subjects, clearness of the musical speech, without any excitation, which does not mean, and far from it, that there is no swing, nor groove.  (…) Initiatives marries the soul of jazz to a classical sense, without giving the impression of breaking codes, but taking initiatives over a base of intellectuality. It's a wonderful piece of work by craftworkers and artisans of the music.' (translated from) Philippe Lesage, Djam (May 2017)
 
'Behind a very innovative Jean-Christophe Cholet, inspired, always creative, 'Initiatives' Trio is based on a will to share an original experience where openness to a different musical culture is omnipresent. A really beautiful opus'( translated from) Laurent Bonnefoy, Radio 16 / Clap Coop (April 2017)

© Infingo 2019

1/5

Initiatives

Jean-Christophe Cholet, piano

Gildas Boclé, contrebasse

Simon Bernier, batterie

Jean-Christophe Cholet poursuit son aventure en trio, laboratoire de rencontres intergénérationnelles. Cette forme lui permet d’exprimer pleinement son jeu à la matière dense et profonde, et de confronter son travail à la jeune génération montante. Que ce soit dans un petit club de jazz en Europe ou dans un Concert Hall en Chine, le trio a déjà donné plus d’une centaine de concerts à travers le monde.

 

2018 marque une étape dans cette aventure, puisque l’instrumentation évolue : après le classique piano trio, la contrebasse est remplacée par des saxophones avec Vincent Mascart. Ce nouveau projet permettra entre autre à Jean-Christophe Cholet d’approfondir son travail de fin mélodiste et d’envisager une musique plus moderne et plus inventive.

« Chaque fois que j’ai entendu sa musique, je l’ai trouvée excellente, et c’est encore le cas ici. Elle relève toujours d’un ouvrage parfait. (…) Jean-Christophe Cholet est une figure d’importance dans le paysage hexagonal. Un fait que ce nouvel album confirme un peu plus. » Ludovic Florin, Jazz Magazine  (juin 2017)
 
« Superbe son de trio. Quand on entend cette élégance, on pense évidemment à quelques autres pianistes délicieux comme Richie Beirach ou Kenny Baron, avec qui Jean-Christophe a étudié dans sa jeunesse. » Alex Dutilh, Emission « Open Jazz » sur France Musique (mai 2017) 
 
« Loin de vous lasser, chaque écoute vous apporte un plaisir supplémentaire, la découverte d'une subtilité que la complétude de l'ensemble avait dissimulée à vos oreilles… (…) Tout cela nous donne un album très cohérent, mélodieux et swinguant, de facture plutôt “classique” mais tellement agréable, apaisé et apaisant en ces temps d’expérimentation débridée pas toujours maîtrisée. » Jean-Louis Derenne, Ojazz (mai 2017)
 
« Un élégant album qui propose plusieurs remarquables morceaux : parmi eux, Xingang Road , Petithomme ou Lili, qui ouvre le bal et qui, pour le coup, évoque Mehldau dans l'exposition du thème. » Louis Victor Michaud, Jazz News (juin 2017)
 
« Initiatives (…) s’attache toujours aux aspects mélodiques, à la clarté du discours, sans une once d’excitation, ce qui ne veut pas dire, loin de là, que le swing et le groove sont absents. (…) Inititatives épouse, sans donner l’impression de casser les codes mais avec des prises d’initiative sur un fond d’intellectualité, l’âme du jazz au sens classique. C’est un superbe travail d’artisans, de compagnons du devoir de la musique. » Philippe Lesage, Djam (mai 2017)
 
« Derrière un Jean-Christophe Cholet innovant, inspiré, toujours créatif, le trio « Initiatives » s’appuie sur une envie de faire partager une expérience originale où l’ouverture sur une culture musicale différente est omniprésente (…) Un bien bel opus… » Laurent Bonnefoy, Radio 16 / Clap Coop (mai 2017)

  • Facebook
  • You tube
  • SoundCloud
  • Instagram
  • twitter

© Infingo 2018